Welcome to the International Cartographic Association
Welcome to the website of the International Cartographic AssociationGet to know the new ICA Executive Committee for the term 2023-2027Get to know the ICA Commissions for the term 2023-2027
Welcome to the website of the International Cartographic Association
Get to know the new ICA Executive Committee for the term 2023-2027
Get to know the ICA Commissions for the term 2023-2027

ICA Award Medals

The ICA Committee for the Selection of Award Recipients is willing to receive nominations for ICA Awards from national and affiliate members of the Association.

The ICA Awards Committee makes recommendations for two types of awards:

Carl Mannerfelt Gold Medal

The Carl Mannerfelt Gold Medal honours cartographers of outstanding merit who have made significant contributions of an original nature to the field of cartography; it is awarded only on rare occasions in order to emphasise its distinction.

Who is this medal named after?

ICA Honorary Fellowship

The ICA Honorary Fellowship is for cartographers of international reputation who have made special contribution to the ICA. It includes a bronze medal.

Cartographers should not be awarded when they serve in the Executive Committee, except for very special circumstances. National ICA Committees or Commission chairs may submit nominations for ICA Awards to the Committee until 6 months prior to an ICA Conference. The nominations must be accompanied with draft citations for the nominees. The Awards Committee submits its proposals to the ICA President with draft citations for the nominees 3 months prior to an International Cartographic Conference.


Awardees of the Carl Mannerfelt Gold Medal

Cynthia BrewerUSA2023
Ulrich FreitagGermany2021
Alan MacEachrenUnited States2021
Fraser TaylorCanada2013
Ferjan OrmelingThe Netherlands2009
Jack DangermondUnited States of America2007
David RhindUnited Kingdom2005
Ernst SpiessSwitzerland2005
Chen ShupengChina2001
Joel L. MorrisonUnited States of America2001
Jacques BertinFrance1999
Ferdinand J. OrmelingThe Netherlands1987
Carl MannerfeltSweden1981
Arthur H. RobinsonUnited States of America1980
Konstantin A. SalichtchevSoviet Union1980
Eduard ImhofSwitzerland1979–1980

Awardees of the ICA Honorary Fellowship

Derek ClarkeSouth Africa2023
Lynn Usery †USA2023
Peter JordanAustria2023
Georg GartnerAustria2021
Lysandros TsoulosGreece2021
Vladimir TikunovRussia2021
Miljenko LapaineCroatia2019
Evangelos LivieratosGreece2019
William CartwrightAustralia2017
Anne RuasFrance2017
Timothy TrainorUSA2017
David FairbairnUnited Kingdom2015
Kirsi VirrantausFinland2013
Milan KonečnýCzech Republic2013
Michael P. PetersonUnited States of America2011
Monique PelletierFrance2011
Yasuo MasaiJapan2011
Bengt RystedtSweden2009
Helen KerfootCanada2007
Graciela MetternichtAustralia2007
Kira B. ShingarevaRussian Federation2007
Wanarat ThothongThailand2005
Alan MacEachrenUnited States of America2005
Michael WoodUnited Kingdom2005
José-Luis Colomer AlberichSpain2005
Pinhas YoeliIsrael2005
Harold MoelleringUnited States of America2003
Sjef van der SteenThe Netherlands2003
Andrzej CiolkoszPoland2003
István KlinghammerHungary2003
Ulrich FreitagGermany2003
Liao KeChina2003
Ken LesterSouth Africa2003
Judy OlsonUnited States of America2001
Hu YujuChina2001
Kei KanazawaJapan2001
Ron FurnessAustralia2001
Bai BoChina2001
Roger AnsonUnited Kingdom1999
Christopher BoardUnited Kingdom1999
Jean-Philippe GrelotFrance1999
Tositomo KanakuboJapan1999
Jaume Miranda i CanalsSpain1999
D. R. Fraser TaylorCanada1999
Richard Dahlberg †United States of America1997
Miroslav MiksovskyCzech Republic1997
Christer PalmSweden1997
Rodolfo Nuñez de las CuevasSpain1995
Árpád Papp-VáryHungary1995
Don T. PearceAustralia1995
Ernst SpiessSwitzerland1995
Joseph WiedelUnited States of America1995
Nestor Duch GaryMexico1991
Bernard GutsellCanada1991
Joel L. MorrisonUnited States of America1991
Helen WallisUnited Kingdom1991
David BickmoreUnited Kingdom1987
Olof HedbomSweden1987 (presented 1997)
Harold FullardUnited Kingdom1984
Rolf BöhmeGermany1984
Denys E. O. ThackwellUnited Kingdom1983
Emil MeynenGermany1983
Stanislaw PietkiewiczPoland1982
Akira WatanabeJapan1980
Sándor RadóHungary1979
Konstantin A. SalichtchevSoviet Union1976


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.