Welcome to the International Cartographic Association
Welcome to the website of the International Cartographic AssociationGet to know the new ICA Executive Committee for the term 2023-2027Get to know the ICA Commissions for the term 2023-2027
Welcome to the website of the International Cartographic Association
Get to know the new ICA Executive Committee for the term 2023-2027
Get to know the ICA Commissions for the term 2023-2027

ICC 2015

ICC 2015

The 27th International Cartographic Conference and the 16th General Assembly of ICA took place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 23–28 August 2015.



The proceedings of the conference (ISBN 978-85-88783-11-9) can be found here.


General Assembly

The conference hosted the 16th General Assembly of the ICA.

Minutes (in English an French)


ICA Awards

At the ICA Awards Ceremony at ICC2015 the following awards were presented in recognition of contributions to the ICA.
David FairbairnUnited KingdomICA Honorary Fellowship
Vladimir TikunovRussiaDiploma for outstanding services to ICA
Elri LiebenbergSouth AfricaDiploma for outstanding services to ICA
José Jesús Reyes NuñezHungaryDiploma for outstanding services to ICA
David FraserAustraliaDiploma for outstanding services to ICA
Corné van ElzakkerThe NetherlandsDiploma for outstanding services to ICA
Recipients of ICA Awards at ICC2015

From left to right: Trisha Moriarty as representative of David Fraser, José Jesús Reyes Nuñez, Elri Liebenberg, David Fairbairn, Vladimir Tikunov, Corné van Elzakker


Pre-Conference Activities

Several ICA Commissions were organizing pre-conference events.

DateVenueTitleOrganized by the Commission(s) on
19–21 AugRio de JaneiroSymposium on Atlases, Topography and the History of CartographyAtlases, Toponomy, History of Cartography
20 AugCuritibaDesigning and Conducting User StudiesUse and User Issues, Cognitive Visualization
20–21 AugCuritibaAdvances in Cartographic Practice in the Classroom and on the WebMaps and the Internet, Education and Training
21–22 AugRio de JaneiroGeneralisation and Multiple RepresentationGeneralization
21–22 AugRio de JaneiroMapping Ephemeralities / Ephemeral CartographiesArt & Cartography, Maps and Society
21–22 AugNiteroiCartography beyond the ordinary worldCartography and Children, Maps for Blind and Partially Sighted People, Planetary Cartography, Cartography in Early Warning and Crisis Management
21 AugRio de JaneiroSpatial data infrastructures, standards, open source and open data for geospatialGeoinformation Infrastructures and Standards, Open Source Geospatial
21 AugCuritibaEnvisioning the Future of Cartographic ResearchCognitive Visualization, Use and User Issues, Geovisualization, Map Design
21 AugRio de JaneiroTowards Evolutionary Cartography from Global PerspectivesTheoretical Cartography, Ubiquitous Mapping


Map awards

The winning entries are listed below – some of them will be featured in our Map of the Month section. For a full list of map products exhibited during ICC 2015, please check the PDF catalogue.

Maps on paper1st3D Map Longyearbyen and environs, Norway, details
2ndPanorama Map of Kanto Mountains & Mt. Fuji, Japan
3rdOccupying São Paulo – An Augmented City Map, Belgium, details
Atlases1stThe Atlas of Cultural Heritage in the Netherlands, Netherlands
2ndGraphical and Statistical Atlas of Switzerland 1914–2014, Switzerland, details
3rdAtlas of Typical Landform in Western China, China
Digital Products1stProject Supra: Real-time Heatmaps from Sports Workouts, Finland, details
2ndOV-Map, Netherlands, details
3rdBeCarto 14-18, Belgium
Educational cartographic products1stEnjoy the map – Krkonoše Mountains, Czech Republic
2ndThe Kakamega-Nandi Forests Puzzli, Germany, details
3rdCollins First Atlas, United Kingdom
Other cartographic products1st3D View of the Beautiful Earth, China
2ndBelle-Ile: Relief map on demand, France
3rdGeological Textile, Japan, details
Public vote3D View of the Beautiful Earth, China
Jury of the ICA Map Awards

Jury of the ICA Map Awards

The international jury had the following members:

  • Kenneth Field (Chair), United Kingdom
  • Derek Clarke, South Africa
  • Amy Griffin, Australia
  • Anja Hopfstock, Germany
  • Lorenz Hurni, Switzerland
  • Alexander Kent, United Kingdom
  • Takashi Morita, Japan
  • Anthony Robinson, USA
  • Vit Vozenilek, Czeck Republic
  • João Bosco, Brazil (LOC)
  • Luiz Henrique Castiglione, Brazil (LOC)


Barbara Petchenik Competition

189 drawings from 38 countries were exhibited. All of them will soon be accessible in the Winner Map Collection at the Carleton University Library. 287 people participated in the public vote.

open all / close all


Members of the jury

Members of the jury

The jury members were

  • Necla Ulugtekin, Turkey, chair
  • José Jesús Reyes Nuñez, Hungary, chair of the commission on cartography and children
  • Ana Maria Garra, Argentina
  • Angelica di Maio, Brazil (LOC)
  • Rumiana Vatseva, Bulgaria
  • Giedrė Beconytė, Lithuania
  • Dariusz Dukaczewski, Poland
  • Pilar Sanchez, Spain
  • Robert Edsall, USA
  • Carla Sena, Brazil, substitute member


Commissions at a glance

During ICC 2015 all new and re-elected commission chairs presented their commissions in a speed presentation. You can check out the presentation slides below.



The ICA Research Scholarships 2014/15 were awarded to the following five young scientists:
Amin Mobasheri, Germany
Jiri Pánek,
Czech Republic
Merve Keskin, Turkey
Taien Ng-Chan, Canada
Zbynek Sterba, Czech Republic
ICA Research Scholars

Laszlo Zentai and Georg Gartner congratulate the ICA Research Scholars 2015 at ICC2015 in Rio, Brazil. From left to right: Zbynek Sterba, Taien Ng-Chan, Amin Mobasheri, Jiri Pánek and Merve Keskin


Orienteering event

Participants of the orienteering event

Participants of the ICC2015 orienteering event at Ilha de Fundão

Details and results of the orienteering event on August 26 at Ilha de Fundão can be found in our orienteering section.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.